

Legislative Assembly Province of Alberta

No. 40

# **VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS**

Fourth Session

Twenty-Ninth Legislature

Thursday, June 7, 2018

The Deputy Speaker took the Chair at 9:00 a.m.

## **Government Motions**

**27.** Oral notice having been given June 6, 2018, moved by Hon. Ms Ganley on behalf of Hon. Mr. Mason:

Be it resolved that, pursuant to Standing Order 3(9), the 2018 Spring Sitting of the Assembly shall stand adjourned upon the Government House Leader advising the Assembly that the business for the sitting is concluded.

The question being put, the motion was agreed to.

**25.** Oral notice having been given June 6, 2018, moved by Hon. Ms Ganley on behalf of Hon. Mr. Mason:

Be it resolved that, notwithstanding Standing Order 3(1), on Thursday, June 7, 2018, the Assembly shall sit beyond the normal adjournment hour of 4:30 p.m. that day until such time that the Government House Leader advises the Assembly that the business for the sitting is concluded

The question being put, the motion was agreed to.

#### **Government Bills and Orders**

#### **Third Reading**

On the motion that the following Bill be now read a Third time:

- Bill 13 An Act to Secure Alberta's Electricity Future (\$) Hon. Ms Ganley on behalf of Hon. Ms McCuaig-Boyd
- A debate followed.

Mr. Nixon, Official Opposition House Leader, moved that the motion be amended by deleting all of the words after "that" and substituting the following:

Bill 13, An Act to Secure Alberta's Electricity Future, be not now read a Third time but that it be recommitted to Committee of the Whole for the purpose of reconsidering sections 2 and 3.

A debate followed on the amendment.

Hon. Ms Ganley, Deputy Government House Leader, requested and received the unanimous consent of the Assembly to shorten the interval between division bells to one minute.

The question being put, the amendment was defeated. With Ms Sweet in the Chair, the names being called for were taken as follows:

For the amendment: 11

Cooper	McPherson	Stier
Cyr	Panda	Strankman
Ellis	Schneider	Yao
Hunter	Smith	

Against the amendment: 39

Carlier	Horne	Nielsen
Ceci	Jabbour	Payne
Connolly	Jansen	Piquette
Coolahan	Kazim	Renaud
Cortes-Vargas	Kleinsteuber	Rosendahl
Dach	Larivee	Sabir
Dang	Littlewood	Schmidt
Drever	Loyola	Schreiner
Eggen	Luff	Shepherd
Fitzpatrick	McKitrick	Sucha
Ganley	McLean	Turner
Goehring	Miller	Westhead
Hinkley	Miranda	Woollard

2

Hon. Ms Ganley, Deputy Government House Leader, requested and received the unanimous consent of the Assembly to shorten the interval between division bells to one minute for the duration of the morning sitting.

Mr. Cooper, Hon. Member for Olds-Didsbury-Three Hills, moved that the motion be amended by deleting all of the words after "that" and substituting the following:

Bill 13, An Act to Secure Alberta's Electricity Future, be not now read a Third time but that it be read a Third time this day three months hence.

A debate followed on the amendment.

The question being put, the amendment was defeated. With Ms Jabbour in the Chair, the names being called for were taken as follows:

For the amendment: 15

Anderson (Highwood)	Hanson	Smith
Clark	Hunter	Stier
Cooper	McPherson	Strankman
Cyr	Panda	Swann
Ellis	Schneider	Yao

Against the amendment: 37

Carlier	Hinkley	Nielsen
Carson	Hoffman	Piquette
Ceci	Horne	Renaud
Connolly	Kazim	Rosendahl
Coolahan	Kleinsteuber	Sabir
Cortes-Vargas	Littlewood	Schmidt
Dach	Loyola	Schreiner
Dang	Luff	Shepherd
Drever	McKitrick	Sucha
Eggen	McLean	Turner
Fitzpatrick	Miller	Westhead
Ganley	Miranda	Woollard
Goehring		

The question for Bill 13, An Act to Secure Alberta's Electricity Future (\$), being immediately put, the motion was agreed to. With Ms Jabbour in the Chair, the names being called for were taken as follows:

3

For the motion: 38

Carlier	Hinkley	Piquette
Carson	Hoffman	Renaud
Ceci	Horne	Rosendahl
Connolly	Kazim	Sabir
Coolahan	Kleinsteuber	Schmidt
Cortes-Vargas	Littlewood	Schreiner
Dach	Loyola	Shepherd
Dang	Luff	Sucha
Drever	McKitrick	Swann
Eggen	McLean	Turner
Fitzpatrick	Miller	Westhead
Ganley	Miranda	Woollard
Goehring	Nielsen	

Against the motion: 14

Anderson (Highwood)	Hanson	Smith
Clark	Hunter	Stier
Cooper	McPherson	Strankman
Cyr	Panda	Yao
Ellis	Schneider	

The following Bill was read a Third time and passed:

Bill 13 An Act to Secure Alberta's Electricity Future (\$) — Hon. Ms Ganley

#### Adjournment

Pursuant to Standing Order 4(2.1), the Assembly adjourned at 12:00 p.m. until 1:30 p.m.

THURSDAY, JUNE 7, 2018 — 1:30 PM

# ROUTINE

### **Members' Statements**

Ms Jabbour, Hon. Member for Peace River, made a statement recognizing June 8, 2018, as Farmer's Day and regarding the key economic role played by agriculture.

Mr. Loewen, Hon. Member for Grande Prairie-Smoky, made a statement regarding several claims frequently made by the Government during Oral Question Period concerning United Conservative Party policies.

MLA Loyola, Hon. Member for Edmonton-Ellerslie, made a statement recognizing June 21, 2018, as National Indigenous Peoples Day and regarding the potential for indigenous people to enrich and strengthen Alberta's future.

4

Mr. Clark, Hon. Member for Calgary-Elbow, made a statement regarding rising crime rates across Alberta, particularly in rural areas, and the Alberta Party's view on how to keep communities safe and tackle the root causes of crime, including the weak economy.

Ms Kazim, Hon. Member for Calgary-Glenmore, made a statement congratulating the Weaselhead/Glenmore Park Preservation Society on being a finalist for the 2018 Emerald Awards, and regarding her hopes and fears for the destiny of the environment.

Dr. Swann, Hon. Member for Calgary-Mountain View, made a statement regarding several urgent and unanswered questions concerning the public health effects of cannabis legalization.

#### **Tabling Returns and Reports**

Hon. Ms Larivee, Minister of Children's Services:

Responses to questions raised by Mrs. Aheer, Hon. Member for Chestermere-Rocky View, on April 19, 2018, Ministry of Children's Services, 2018-2019 Main Estimates debate

Sessional Paper 241/2018

Mr. Loewen, Hon. Member for Grande Prairie-Smoky:

Report, undated, entitled "2018 Bighorn Backcountry Recreational Survey – Infographic Summary," prepared by Love Your Trails

Sessional Paper 242/2018

#### Adjournment

Pursuant to Standing Order 3(4)(a), and on motion by Hon. Mr. Mason, Government House Leader, the Assembly adjourned at 2:43 p.m. until Monday, October 29, 2018, at 1:30 p.m.

Hon. Robert E. Wanner, Speaker

Title: Thursday, June 7, 2018